Professor Alan Murray awarded Principal Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy

The Higher Education Academy (HEA) has conferred its highest status – that of Principal Fellow - on the School’s Professor and Dean of Students, Alan Murray. The HEA is the UK’s national, independent and government-funded organisation that contributes towards the professionalisation of University teaching. It can confer the status of Associate Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow or Principal Fellow and is now a vital part of this University’s Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice, aimed at new colleagues in the University with roles that include teaching.

This award recognises Professor Murray’s long, passionate and ongoing commitment to teaching, learning and students. It recognises a wide range of contributions, including

"front-of-house" teaching within the University,
strategic leadership in student education in this University as, for example, Head of School and Dean of Students
contributions at a national/international level via Professional bodies and as external examiner at other leading Universities

As we congratulate Alan we are also delighted to congratulate Professor Peter Hoskins, Dr Stewart Smith and Dr Vasileios Koutsos who have been awarded the status of Fellow of the HEA via the Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice. Also we have to congratulate Dr Martin Crapper who was awarded the status of Fellow via an evaluation of his experience (this route no longer exists) and the following people who were awarded either Associate Fellow or Fellow through a similar scheme in other Universities:

Dr Philip Hands, Associate Fellow, Cambridge
Dr Martin Sweatman, Fellow, Strathclyde
Dr Jai Li, Fellow, Exeter

Professor Alan Murray
Professor Alan Murray