Engineering Postgraduate Research Conference 2015 a Huge Success - Award Winners Stephen Blowers and Dimitris Kamilis

This year's postgraduate Research Conference was held on 14 April 2015 in the John McIntyre Centre, Pollock Halls of Residence. The event celebrated research within the School of Engineering showcasing the work being done by our students across the six Research Institutes. We had an exciting line-up of Speakers including:

Leslie Yellowlees, our Head of College and also University Vice Principal, who set the tone for the day giving splendid and inspiring examples from her life and career.

Gordon Masterton, ex-Vice President of Jacobs Engineering, gave an engaging overview of Crossrail and enthused students to take up the challenge of MacRobert Award.

Jason Reese, our Regius Chair of Engineering, gave a fascinating overview of his highly multi-disciplinary work on fluid dynamics at non-continuum scale and encouraged students to take the untrodden path.

52 second year PhD students presented their posters – demonstrating the enormous breadth and depth of Edinburgh Engineering research. 

Stephen Blowers wins the Best Poster Award at the PGR Conference 2015

Congratulations to Stephen Blowers who has won the Best Poster Award at the Postgraduate Conference 2015. Stephen is a 2nd year PhD student in the Institute for Materials and Processes and his research focuses on "Brain Temperature Modelling". 

Dimitris Kamilis wins the Academy Award at the PGR Conference 2015

Every year, the School Postgraduate Progression Committee (SPPC) reviews all student's posters and presentations at the Postgraduate Research conference and selects only one winner. This year's winner is Dimitris Kamilis, a 2nd year PhD student based in the Institute for Digital Communications. His poster and presentation titles are "Controlled Source Electromagnetic Imaging".

Keynote speaker - Professor Jason Reese
Professor Jason Reese gave a fascinating overview of his highly multi-disciplinary work .
Best Poster Award Winner - Stephen Blowers
Stephen Blower won this year's Best Poster Award
Academy Award Winner - Dimitris Kamilis
Dimitris Kamilis won this year's Academy Award