Management and Structure of the School of Engineering

The School of Engineering is one of the largest in the University of Edinburgh, comprising over 250 staff and over 475 postgraduates. The School occupies approximately 20,000m2 in 14 buildings on the University's King's Buildings site in South Edinburgh.

We have listed below our senior management and staff groupings for easier navigation. You can also use our Search form or browse all people working at the School of Engineering.

Head of School

Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh

PA for Head of School: Ms Louise Farquharson

Deputy Head of School

Professor Gareth Harrison

Director of Research

Professor Mike Davies

Director of Teaching and Learning

Dr David Laurenson

Director of International Students

Professor Aristides Kiprakis

Director of International Partnerships

Professor Ian Underwood

Director of Industry Engagement

Dr Filippo Menolascina

Director of Professional Services

Ms Bridgeen McCloskey

Deputy Director of Professional Services

Ms Katherine Moore

Research Institutes


Head: Professor Alistair Elfick
Secretary: Ms Diane Reid
» All IBioE staff

Digital Communications

Head: Dr Nicholas Polydorides
Secretary: Ms Jacqueline Gordon
» All IDCOM staff

Energy Systems

Head: Professor Vengatesan Venugopal
Secretary: Miss Karen Brocklehurst
» All IES staff

Infrastructure and Environment

Head: Professor Lindsay Beevers
Secretary: Ms Jacqueline Gordon
» All IIE staff

Integrated Micro and Nano Systems

Head: Professor Rebecca Cheung
Secretary: Ms Katrina Saridakis
» All IMNS staff

Materials and Processes

Head: Professor Xianfeng Fan
Secretary: Mr Owen Palfrey
» All IMP staff

Multiscale Thermofluids

Head: Professor Khellil Sefiane
Secretary: Mrs Alison Patton
» All IMT staff

Academic and Teaching Staff

Head of Graduate School

Dr Prashant Valluri

Graduate School Administrators: Miss Sheila McBain and Dr Katrina Tait

Teaching Services Manager

Mrs Laura Smith

School Liaison Officer

Dr Andrew Firth

Engineering Disciplines

Chemical Engineering

Director: Professor Glen McHale
Programme Manager: Dr Francisco R Garcia Garcia
» All Chemical Engineering staff

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Director: Professor Luke Bisby
Programme Manager: Dr Ricky Carvel
» All Civil and Environmental Engineering staff

Electronics and Electrical Engineering

Director: Dr James Hopgood
Programme Manager: Dr Jonathan Shek
» All Electronics and Electrical Engineering staff

Mechanical Engineering

Director: Dr Filipe Teixeira-Dias
Programme Manager: Dr Katherine Dunn
» All Mechanical Engineering staff

PGR and Research Staff

Engineering Technical and Support Staff

A-Z Staff at the School of Engineering

A-Z People

Prof Conchúr Ó Brádaigh
Prof Conchúr Ó Brádaigh, Head of School and Chair of Materials Engineering
Professor Gareth Harrison, Deputy Head of School, School of Engineering, profile picture
Professor Gareth Harrison, Deputy Head of School